Loading

Home | Events | Jobs | Tender | Contact | Newsroom
CGIAR | Intranet |  | Email | OCS | version française
  AfricaRice-FaceBook AfricaRice-Twitter AfricaRice-SlideShare AfricaRice-News-brief AfricaRice-Newsroom AfricaRice-Publications AfricaRice-Journal-articles AfricaRice-Photostream AfricaRice-Videos AfricaRice-Video-Podcasts AfricaRice-Audio-Podcasts

Africa Rice Center (AfricaRice)
 
Africa Rice Center (AfricaRice)
   

Global Rice Science Partnership (GRiSP)


Dix conditions essentielles pour la réussite du GRiSP

par
Dr. Papa Abdoulaye Seck
Directeur général, Centre du riz pour l’Afrique (AfricaRice)

À AfricaRice, nous croyons vraiment au Partenariat mondial sur la science rizicole (GRiSP), qui impose un nouveau décor au niveau mondial, et nous sommes partie prenante de ce dispositif. Nous croyons au GRiSP parce qu’il faut absolument que nous acceptions tous qu’il y a nécessité, mais aussi urgence de faire de la recherche autrement, de faire plus et de faire mieux, compte tenu de l’aggravation de la pauvreté à travers le monde. Mais lorsque nous disons qu’il faut faire plus, faire autrement et faire mieux, nous entendons à travers cela le respect d’un certain nombre de piliers essentiels.

D’abord, il faut une volonté manifeste, des uns et des autres, pour que nous partagions les spécifications du programme entre ARI, NARI et d’autres centres du CG, mais que ce partage là puisse s’adosser à des organisations professionnelles et interprofessionnelles fortes en quête de compétitivité. En effet, nous ne sommes plus à l’ère où l’agriculture était considérée comme un secteur purement social, cette agriculture doit être considérée comme un secteur économique et subséquemment, elle doit être soumise à des obligations de résultats.

Faire de la recherche autrement, faire plus et mieux, c’est aussi cesser de penser que la recherche doit être le monopole des chercheurs, cette recherche, elle est tellement importante, tellement essentielle, qu’on ne saurait prendre le risque de la laisser entre les mains des seuls chercheurs.

Cela veut dire que notre ambition majeure doit être effectivement de tout mettre en œuvre dans le cadre de ce programme pour que nous puissions avoir des systèmes d’innovation impliquant l’ensemble des parties prenantes dans le processus de génération et de diffusion des innovations technologiques. Il faut que nous arrivions à domestiquer véritablement la science.

Le troisième élément qui nous parait important, c’est que nous avons un point de passage obligé, il faut en toutes circonstances que nous convoquions l’excellence scientifique, convoquer l’excellence scientifique signifie dans un contexte d’une recherche agricole finalisée, la nécessité véritablement de faire de l’impact notre raison d’être.

À AfricaRice, nous pensons que sans impact, il n y a pas de recherche durable, car pour nous, l’agriculture mondiale ou la riziculture en particulier ne peut se développer s’il n y a pas une mutualisation des intelligences. Cette mutualisation des intelligences permet d’exploiter les avantages comparatifs des uns et des autres, et d’avoir des masses critiques qui vont véritablement nous permettre d’aborder les problèmes essentiels de notre riziculture.

Alors, afin que le GRiSP puisse connaitre un succès retentissant au grand bonheur des riziculteurs, et de tous les consommateurs du continent africain, asiatique bref du monde entier, il est essentiel que les dix conditions suivantes soient effectivement réunies.

LA PREMIERE CONDITION du succès passera par le fait que nous devons comprendre qu’il y a nécessité d’exclusion de toute pensée hégémonique dans un tel programme, exclusion de toute pensée hégémonique parce que nous avons la conviction, ici à AfricaRice, que le monde ne peut se développer que dans la diversité, et avec la diversité, et ce ne peut être que la synthèse de ces différences qui nous permettra d’aller de l’avant.

LA DEUXIEME CONDITION implique que nous prenions absolument en compte les différences régionales. L'Afrique ce n'est pas l'Asie, l'Asie ce n'est pas l'Afrique, l'Amérique latine ce n'est pas l’Afrique, et l'Amérique latine ce n'est pas l'Asie. Nous ne devons pas être des tailleurs prêt à porter, nous devons plutôt être des tailleurs sur mesure. C'est le terrain d'intervention qui doit commander la méthode, et les préoccupations fondamentales du terrain doivent nous guider, même si nous sommes dans une dynamique d’exploitation de nos complémentarités.

LA TROISIEME CONDITION qui parait essentielle à AfricaRice, c’est qu’il nous faut respecter les identités institutionnelles. Au niveau du GRiSP, tous les drapeaux doivent flotter, et nous devons avoir l’intelligence d’avoir une harmonie des couleurs. Nous devons tous exister.

LA QUATRIEME CONDITION essentielle, c’est qu’il doit y avoir une équité dans la répartition des ressources en fonction des besoins qui s’expriment au niveau des continents, et qui doivent être l’architecte de la répartition de nos ressources.

LA CINQUIEME CONDITION fondamentale, plus les choses sont simples, mieux c’est, c.- à-d. que nous devons éviter toute bureaucratie qui serait de nature à augmenter les coûts de transaction, nous pensons que l’argent de la recherche doit aller à la recherche, mais pas à la bureaucratie.

LA SIXIEME CONDITION qui parait essentielle, c’est que nous devons respecter les décisions des organes de gouvernance, c’est important parce que sans respect des décisions des organes de gouvernance, il y aura, comme mentionné ci-dessus, une hégémonie du point de vue de la pensée, et cela ne va pas dans le sens du partenariat au sens où nous l’entendons.

LA SEPTIEME CONDITION, c’est qu’il faut un renforcement continu de tous les acteurs, particulièrement les acteurs africains pour que nous puissions effectivement renforcer la capacité opérationnelle de tous ceux qui interviennent au niveau des chaînes de valeur, car cela ne sert à rien d’avoir des résultats s’ils ne sont pas utiles et utilisables. Et pour qu’ils soient utiles et utilisables, il est fondamental que les agriculteurs, les transformateurs et autres, soient suffisamment outillés pour s’approprier et incorporer les innovations technologiques qui peuvent permettre effectivement de faire la différence.

LA HUITIEME CONDITION, il faut un dialogue avec les politiques, nous ne pouvons pas avoir d’impact significatif si nous n’avons pas un environnement économique incitatif et de qualité, et ce sont les décideurs politiques qui ont, entre autre, cette responsabilité. Nous devons donc trouver dans ce programme des canaux de communication avec les décideurs politiques et à cet égard, en ce qui concerne le continent africain, nous avons le Conseil des ministres qui est un cadre de dialogue. À chaque Conseil des ministres, grâce aux travaux de l’équipe des politiques d’AfricaRice, nous avons un dialogue direct avec 24 ministres pour présenter la physionomie actuelle de la riziculture, et proposer ce qu’il faut faire pour changer les choses , et formuler un certain nombre de recommandations concrètes et pragmatiques permettant d’optimiser la filière rizicole dans notre espace.

LA NEUVIEME CONDITION concerne le rôle des NARS dans ce programme qui se doit d’être fondamental. L'heure où on avait des NARS considérés comme des consommateurs d’idées est dépassée, ce qu’il nous faut aujourd’hui c’est des NARS qui sont, certes des consommateurs d’idées, mais aussi des producteurs d’idées. Et pour que ces NARS puissent avoir ce statut de consommateurs et de producteurs d’idées, il faut que dans le cadre de ce programme, ils aient les moyens d’exprimer effectivement leur génie créateur à l’instar de tous.

LA DIXIEME CONDITION porte sur la rupture avec les surévaluations où les chercheurs passent beaucoup plus de temps à préparer leurs dossiers d’évaluation qu’à faire de la recherche. Pour cela, il faut que des règles du jeu soient définies, qu’on se fasse tous confiance et qu’il y ait aussi des mécanismes pour que nous puissions voir véritablement si nous sommes dans la bonne direction.

Ces dix conditions ci-dessus peuvent se ramener à une phrase : « le partenariat ce n’est pas une superposition d’activités de recherche, le partenariat lorsqu’il est normé, inclut des activités de recherche intégrées qui sont pilotées par une volonté commune, de recherche commune, de solutions communes destinée aux riziculteurs du monde ».

Le GRiSP peut nous permettre véritablement de faire des avancées significatives, cependant le plus important, ce n’est pas la pertinence d’un programme qu’on propose, mais la volonté des hommes d’assumer ce programme et d’atteindre les objectifs fixés.

New Page 1

   

grisp-africa resources
  GRiSP Website
  Documents
    GRiSP flyer
    2011 GRiSP Annual Report
    GRiSP: Ten Essential Conditions for Success by Dr. Papa Abdoulaye Seck, Director General, AfricaRice
    Dix conditions essentielles pour la réussite du GRiSP Dr. Papa Abdoulaye Seck, Directeur général, AfricaRice
  News Release
    Rice experts in Africa adopt a new way of doing business for greater impact
    Les experts riz d’Afrique adoptent une nouvelle façon de faire les choses en vue d’un impact plus grand
    AfricaRice takes the lead in global research alliance to urgently address Africa’s rice challenges
    AfricaRice prend les devants de l’alliance de la recherche mondiale en vue de relever urgemment les défis de la riziculture en Afrique
    Africa’s rice stakeholders root for mechanization
    Les acteurs de la riziculture en Afrique encouragent la mécanisation
  Presentations
    Presentations from the GRiSP mechanization workshop
  Photos
    Scenes from the GRiSP-Africa Science Forum
    Scenes from the GRiSP mechanization workshop
  Videos
    AfricaRice Director General Dr Papa Seck's opening speech at 2012 GRiSP-Africa Science Forum
    AfricaRice Director General Dr Papa Seck's closing speech at 2012 GRiSP-Africa Science Forum
    Closing remarks : 2012 AfricaRice Science Week and GRiSP-Africa Science Forum
    Overall impressions : 2012 AfricaRice Science Week and GRiSP-Africa Science Forum
    GRiSP-Africa Videos
Africa Rice Center (AfricaRice)

 

     

AfricaRice is a CGIAR Research Center –
part of a global research partnership
for a food-secure future.
 
It is also an intergovernmental association of
African member countries.
 

 

AfricaRice Headquarters
01 BP 4029, Abidjan 01, Côte d'Ivoire
T: +225 22 48 09 10; F: +225 22 44 26 29

M’bé Research Station
01 B.P. 2551, Bouaké 01, Côte d'Ivoire
T: +225 22 48 09 20; F: +225 31 63 25 78

E: AfricaRice@cgiar.org

 

Events | Job | News brief |  News releases | Photos |  
Press clippings
| Slides | Videos | Podcast

Loading

Home | Events | Jobs | Tender | Contact | Newsroom
CGIAR Consortium | CGxchange | CG-mail | OCS
version française

 
AfricaRice-Google plus AfricaRice-FaceBook AfricaRice-Twitter AfricaRice-SlideShare AfricaRice-News-brief AfricaRice-Newsroom AfricaRice-Publications AfricaRice-Journal-articles AfricaRice-Photostream AfricaRice-Videos AfricaRice-Video-Podcasts AfricaRice-Audio-Podcasts

Africa Rice Center (AfricaRice)
 
Africa Rice Center (AfricaRice)
   

Global Rice Science Partnership (GRiSP)

GRiSP: Ten Essential Conditions for Success
by
Dr. Papa Abdoulaye Seck
Director General, Africa Rice Center (AfricaRice)

At AfricaRice, we truly believe in the Global Rice Science Partnership (GRiSP), which proposes a new global approach to research. We are part of this program. We believe in GRiSP because it is vital for all of us to acknowledge not only the need but also the urgency to conduct research activities differently—to do more and to do better, given the increasing poverty throughout the world. But, to do more, and differently and better, we need to respect a number of essential success factors.

First of all, partners should be willing to share the responsibilities of the task with advanced research institutes, national agricultural research and extension systems (NARES), and other CGIAR centers, but this sharing should be backed by strong and competitive professional and interprofessional organizations. In fact, the time when agriculture was considered a strictly social sector is over; this sector must be considered an economic sector, and as such it has to deliver results.

Doing research differently, doing more and better, also means rejecting the idea that research must be conducted only by scientists. This research is so important, and so essential, that we should not take the risk of leaving it in the hands of scientists alone.

This means that our main ambition must be to use all means within this program to produce innovative systems involving the widest range of stakeholders in the generation of technological innovation and dissemination processes. We must be able to domesticate science.

The third item that is important to us is that we pass through an obligatory step—it is necessary in all circumstances to call for scientific excellence, which in the context of agricultural research means that our raison d’être is to have real impact, i.e., to make a real difference in the lives of our end users – the poorest of the poor in rural and urban areas of societies.

At AfricaRice, we believe that, without impact, there is no sustainable research. Global agriculture or global rice cultivation in particular cannot be developed without pooling intelligence. This collective intelligence will enable us to exploit comparative advantages among partners and have a critical mass, which can help us tackle more efficiently the constraints to rice production.

Therefore, for GRiSP to be truly successful and to ensure a high degree of satisfaction of farmers and consumers in Africa and Asia, in short, in the whole world, it is essential that the following ten conditions be effectively met:

THE FIRST CONDITION for the success of GRiSP is that it is necessary to exclude any hegemonic thinking from this program, because we believe at AfricaRice, that the world can evolve only through and with diversity, and it is only the synthesis of these differences that will make us move forward.

THE SECOND CONDITION implies that we take into account regional differences. Africa is not Asia and Asia is not Africa. In the same way, Latin America is neither Africa nor Asia. We should not be tailors of ready-made suits but of custom-made suits. The area of intervention should dictate the methods we adopt, and basic preoccupations on the ground should guide us even though we are in the process of exploiting complementarities.

THE THIRD CONDITION that seems essential for AfricaRice is that we should respect institutional identities. In GRiSP, all flags must fly, and we should be sensible enough to harmonize the colors. We must all co-exist.

THE FOURTH CONDITION is that there should be equity in resource allocation based on the real needs expressed by the various continents, which should be able to participate in deciding the resource allocation.

THE FIFTH CONDITION is the following: the simpler things are, the better it is for all of us. In other words, we should try to avoid bureaucracy that would increase transaction costs. We believe that research funds should be used for research and not for bureaucracy.

THE SIXTH CONDITION that seems essential is that we should respect decisions of governing bodies. This is important because, if these decisions are not respected, there will be, as mentioned above, a tendency toward hegemonic thinking and this goes against our partnership model. It leads to diluted accountability and lack of transparency.

THE SEVENTH CONDITION is that there should be a continuous effort to strengthen all stakeholders, especially African stakeholders, so that we can strengthen the operational capacity of all stakeholders who intervene in the value chain, because it is useless to have results if they are not useful and usable. And, for these results to be useful and usable, it is essential that farmers, processors, and others be adequately equipped to take ownership and adopt technological innovations that can effectively transform their lives.

THE EIGHTH CONDITION is that there is a need to have continuous dialogue with policymakers. We cannot make an impact if the environment is not conducive and adequate incentives are not available. It is policymakers who, among others, have this responsibility. We must establish in this program communication channels with policymakers. In this connection, in Africa, we have the Council of Ministers, which serves as a platform of dialogue. At each Council of Ministers’ meeting, and thanks to the work of the AfricaRice policy team, we have a direct dialogue with 24 ministers, in which we present a comprehensive analysis of the current situation of rice production and propose solutions to change things, and formulate a number of concrete and pragmatic recommendations to optimize the rice sector in our region.

THE NINTH CONDITION concerns the important role that the NARES should play in this program. The time when the NARES were considered as consumers of ideas is over. What we need today is NARES that are both consumers and producers of ideas. And, for NARES to become producers and consumers of ideas, it is necessary within this program that they have the means to effectively express their creative genius like their peers.

THE TENTH CONDITION is to break with the trend of overassessments and reporting in which scientists spend more time in preparing their assessments than in doing research. To avoid all this, rules must be defined, and we should trust each other. Effective mechanisms should be established so that we can check whether we are on the right track.

The ten conditions mentioned can be summarized in one sentence: “Partnership is not something that is superimposed on research activities.” Real partnership is an integral part of research activities that are conducted by the common will of collaborating scientists, to find common solutions to rice farmers’ constraints in the world.

GRiSP can help us make truly significant advances. However, the most important thing is not the relevance of the program, but our willingness to take charge of that program and meet the planned objectives.

New Page 1

 

grisp-africa resources
  GRiSP Website
  Documents
    GRiSP flyer
    2011 GRiSP Annual Report
    GRiSP: Ten Essential Conditions for Success by Dr. Papa Abdoulaye Seck, Director General, AfricaRice
    Dix conditions essentielles pour la réussite du GRiSP Dr. Papa Abdoulaye Seck, Directeur général, AfricaRice
  News Release
    Rice experts in Africa adopt a new way of doing business for greater impact
    Les experts riz d’Afrique adoptent une nouvelle façon de faire les choses en vue d’un impact plus grand
    AfricaRice takes the lead in global research alliance to urgently address Africa’s rice challenges
    AfricaRice prend les devants de l’alliance de la recherche mondiale en vue de relever urgemment les défis de la riziculture en Afrique
    Africa’s rice stakeholders root for mechanization
    Les acteurs de la riziculture en Afrique encouragent la mécanisation
  Presentations
    Presentations from the GRiSP mechanization workshop
  Photos
    Scenes from the GRiSP-Africa Science Forum
    Scenes from the GRiSP mechanization workshop
  Videos
    AfricaRice Director General Dr Papa Seck's opening speech at 2012 GRiSP-Africa Science Forum
    AfricaRice Director General Dr Papa Seck's closing speech at 2012 GRiSP-Africa Science Forum
    Closing remarks : 2012 AfricaRice Science Week and GRiSP-Africa Science Forum
    Overall impressions : 2012 AfricaRice Science Week and GRiSP-Africa Science Forum
    GRiSP-Africa Videos
Africa Rice Center (AfricaRice)

 

     

AfricaRice is one of the 15 international agricultural research Centers that are members of the CGIAR Consortium.
 It is also an intergovernmental association of
African member countries.
 

 

Africa Rice Center (AfricaRice)
Headquarters
01 BP 4029, Abidjan 01, Côte d'Ivoire
T: +225 22 48 09 10; F: +225 22 44 26 29;

01 B.P. 2551, Bouaké 01, Côte d'Ivoire
T: +225 31 63 25 78; F: +225 31 63 28 00;

E: AfricaRice@cgiar.org

 

Events | Job | News brief |  News releases | Photos |  
Press clippings | Publications
| Slides | Videos |

Podcast
 

Creative Commons License