Home | Events | Jobs | Tender | Contact | Newsroom
CGIAR | Intranet |  | Email | OCS | version française
  AfricaRice-FaceBook AfricaRice-Twitter AfricaRice-SlideShare AfricaRice-News-brief AfricaRice-Newsroom AfricaRice-Publications AfricaRice-Journal-articles AfricaRice-Photostream AfricaRice-Videos AfricaRice-Video-Podcasts AfricaRice-Audio-Podcasts

Africa Rice Center (AfricaRice)
Africa Rice Center (AfricaRice)

Africa Rice Center (AfricaRice) was formed in 1971 by 11 countries with the assistance of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), and the Economic Commission for Africa (ECA). Today its membership comprises 27 countries, covering West, Central, East and North African regions, namely Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Ethiopia, Gabon, the Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Republic of Congo, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo and Uganda.

Recognizing the strategic importance of rice for Africa and the effective geographic expansion of the Center – which was constituted as the West Africa Rice Development Association (WARDA) in 1971 – its Council of Ministers took a historic decision in September 2009 to officially change its name to “Africa Rice Center (AfricaRice)” and to no longer refer to it as WARDA.

Member country profile

New Page 1


Council of Ministers
National Experts Committee (NEC)
Constitution of the Africa Rice Center
Report of the 8th Biennial Meeting of NEC 2012
Report of the 7th Biennial Meeting of NEC 2010
Report of the 6th Biennial Meeting of NEC 2008
Report of the 5th Biennial Meeting of NEC 2006
Report of the 4th Biennial Meeting of NEC 2004
Report of the 2nd Biennial Meeting of NEC 2000
RESOLUTIONS of the 26th Ordinary Session of Council of Ministers of AfricaRice, 27 - 28 Sep 2007, Abuja, Nigeria
RESOLUTIONS of the 27th Ordinary Session of Council of Ministers of AfricaRice, 2–3 September 2009, Lomé, Togo
RESOLUTIONS of the 28th Ordinary Session of Council of Ministers of AfricaRice, 23 September 2011, Banjul, The Gambia
RESOLUTIONS of the 29th Ordinary Session of Council of Ministers of AfricaRice, 10-11 December 2013, N’Djamena, Chad
Report of the High-Level Ministerial Conference on rice: Delivering on Commitments to Transform Africa’s Rice Industry
Africa Rice Center (AfricaRice)



AfricaRice is a CGIAR Research Center –
part of a global research partnership
for a food-secure future.
It is also an intergovernmental association of
African member countries.


AfricaRice Headquarters
01 BP 4029, Abidjan 01, Côte d'Ivoire
T: +225 22 48 09 10; F: +225 22 44 26 29

M’bé Research Station
01 B.P. 2551, Bouaké 01, Côte d'Ivoire
T: +225 22 48 09 20; F: +225 31 63 25 78

E: AfricaRice@cgiar.org


Events | Job | News brief |  News releases | Photos |  
Press clippings
| Slides | Videos | Podcast